Skip to main content

About us

The Department of Veterinary Microbiology


The current Department of Veterinary Microbiology was established in July, 2016. The Department was one of the two Departments created from the former Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology which was established in July 1976 from the Department of Veterinary Pathology. The second new Department created alongside being Department of Veterinary Parasitology and Entomology.

The academic units in the Department of Veterinary Microbiology include: Bacteriology, Virology, Mycology, Mycoplasmology, and immunology. The Department have been involved in the training of students both at undergraduate and postgraduate levels with the award of -DVM, M.Sc., M.V.Sc. and PhD degrees.


The Department also provide diagnostic services for the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, University of Ibadan and for clients in the livestock industry from southwestern states of Nigeria, whenever required. Members of the Department are actively involved with researches into diseases of economic importance in animals, man, with particular emphasises on aetiology, molecular epidemiology and control; as well as in the area of emerging infectious diseases - including antimicrobial resistance as an important aspect of emerging infectious diseases.