Skip to main content

History : Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology

The department of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology was established in July, 1976. The department consists of sections viz Microbiology and Parasitology. The section of Microbiology covers the fields of bacteriology, virology, mycology, mycoplasmology and Immunology. The Parasitology section is concerned with helminthology, entomology, acarology and protozoology. The two sections collectively provide diagnostic services for the clinical departments, the University farm, Zoological Garden, Veterinary Teaching Hospital and also the States of Oyo, Ogun, Ondo, Ekiti, Lagos, Kwara, Kogi, Edo and Delta whenever required.
The department since establishment has been involved in active research into diseases of economic importance in livestock and in some cases, human diseases especially zoonoses. Core research areas in the department include: Bacteriology, Virology, Mycology, Mycoplasmology, Immunology, Helminthology, Protozoology, Entomology and Acarology at basic, cellular and molecular levels.
The department offers para-clinical training for the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree programme.